Now Playing

Justin Timberlake

Just Can't Stop The Feeling


On Air

96.1 The Rush

Midnight - 6:00am


Northwestel partners with 13 Indigenous owned companies in Fibre-To-The-Home sale

Northwestel is giving assets to 13 Indigenous owned companies. Photo by CKRW FILE

13 indigenous owned companies across the North have been given the Fibre-to--the-home project from Northwestel.

YUKON - Northwestel is moving the Fibre-to--the-home project into the hands of 13 indigenous-owned companies across the North.

Northwestel President Curtis Shaw made the announcement this morning that a vast majority of a province or territory's in-community fibre assets are now Indigenous-owned. 

This is a groundbreaking partnership that's called Shared Pathways network, it'll see regular payments from Northwestel for the fibre network's full use for as long as 20 years. This guarantees direct economic benefits to participating Yukon First Nation communities for decades.

Shaw says this deal makes good business sense and helps forward the commitment to reconciliation.

"The more Yukon communities receive full-fibre connections over the next 18 months, those assets will also be owned by Yukon First Nations."

Shaw continued saying some region's customers will have internet entirely owned by Yukon First Nations.

"For example, if you live in upper Liard or Teslin, the brand new fibre line coming to your house will be entirely owned by Yukon First Nations."

Shaw says the more important part of the investment lies in how it will strengthen ties over the long run to the communities that Northwestel works to serve. He says this is probably a first-in-Canada initiative, and he is hoping that it's not the last.

The following are the participating First Nations:

Carcross/Tagish Management Corporation (C/TMC) - (Carcross Tagish First Nation)

Carcross/Tagish Management Corporation (C/TMC) - (Carcross Tagish First Nation)
Carmacks Development Corporation - (Little Salmon Carmacks First Nation)
Chief Isaac Group of Companies – (Trʼondëk Hwëchʼin First Nation)
Chu Niikwan Development Corporation/Chu Níikwän Limited Partnership - (Kwanlin Dün First Nation)
Copper Nïïsüü Limited Partnership – (White River First Nation)
Da Daghay Development Corporation (DDDC) - (Ta'an Kwach'an Council)
Dakwakada Capital Investments – (Champagne and Aishihik First Nations)
Dena Nezziddi Development Corporation - (Ross River Dena Council)
First Kaska LP – (Liard First Nation)
Kluane Dana Shaw Corporation (KDSC) - (Kluane First Nation)
Na-Cho Nyak Dun Development Corporation (First Nation of Na-Cho Nyak Dun)
Selkirk Development Corporation - (Selkirk First Nation)
Vuntut Gwitchin Limited Partnership – (Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation)

More from Local News


Recently Played